Owning Andy Warhol’s Jumper

15 Jun

A piece of iconic pop art history for £10,000 or a very expensive second hand jumper you decide – personally if I had the money I would be all over this like a nasty rash. The other issue is I think fear know that I’m about to become fairly addicted to the Vintage Seekers site I found this on (via @maiden_uk).

Made of the finest cashmere, this exquisite black poloneck jumper was owned and worn by the artist Andy Warhol.

There are numerous well documented photographs showing Warhol wearing the jumper whilst producing many of his famous artworks.

The jumper was manufactured by a company called Halston.

Halston designs were also worn by Elizabeth Taylor, Liza Minnelli, Anjelica Huston and many other glamorous Hollywood stars.

Warhol continues to set record prices at art auctions. His artwork ‘200 one dollar bills’ sold in November 2009 for $43.8m.

However personal memorabilia relating to Warhol is increasingly hard to find.

This black poloneck can be considered a truly iconic piece of art history.


2 Responses to “Owning Andy Warhol’s Jumper”

  1. Wazzra June 15, 2011 at 12:13 pm #

    I’m always hot and cold about Warhol and Warhol’s memorabilia… I think the guy was such a jerk!

  2. lollipop June 15, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

    This was really exciting to me when I assumed the American version of jumper, which is a little girl’s dress, like overalls that have a skirt instead of pants. Did he wear jumpers all that time, and I’m only know learning about it?

    As far as Andy Warhol being a jerk, I think he’s pretty funny. I can’t find the quotes now, but there used to be a big book of Warhol at my bookstore, and there was a section of quotes where he did a lot of making fun of himself. In the middle of this book about his genius there were quotes by him that went something like, No, I’m really not talented. What I do is pretty easy.

    Also, I read a story on the BBC a few years ago, about how the Warhol Society has discredited a lot of art that people are sure is Warhol’s, because the Factory technique made too many of them, and they started to lose their value. Which is pretty funny, but I guess kind of a jerk thing to do in his memory. Anyways, I guess I can’t comment on him being a jerk, since I don’t know him and don’t really pay much attention to his art, but thought those anecdotes were interestin’

Leave a Reply

