9/11 Flipbook

24 Feb

This self published book by Scott Blake recalls the horrific events of 9/11 in flip book form. Normally I like to not pass comment on this blog but leave others to make up their own minds…

…BUT I do feel there is an increasingly trend for people to be as provocative as possible in order to raise their own profile or noise around their event or art piece. In turn that this perhaps means that people tend to look for ‘easy’ or purposefully controversial  inspiration. I’ll be honest and say that yes the videos, and other content prepared around this book, by this artist do give me the feeling that perhaps publicity is the true inspiration from behind this piece but I am more than happy to be wrong.

3 Responses to “9/11 Flipbook”

  1. lollipop February 24, 2011 at 8:26 pm #

    i really like the flipbook in Jonathan Safran Foer’s book, Extremely Loud and Incredibly close, of a man jumping out of one of the towers on 9/11, but in reverse.

    it’s goes really well with the story, and is a really great element to a really great book (it’s actually my favorite book).

    so, yeah, this flipbook doesn’t shock me. the book talked about perceptions of time, watching war scenes videos/forwards and backwards (reminded me of Kurt Vonnegut in Slaughter-House Five), but just a flipbook seems kind of silly.

  2. Scott Blake February 24, 2011 at 10:47 pm #

    @miss_cakehead Thank you for your honest feedback. I know my 9/11 Flipbooks will offend some people, but NOT making art about 9/11 was NOT an option for me.

    @lollipop It is more then “just a flipbook”. Along with the images, the flipbook includes essays written by a wide range of participants, expressing their personal experience of the September 11 attacks. More importantly, the authors of the essays were asked to reflect on, and respond to, the flipbook itself.

    Now that I’ve created a project for anyone to voice their opinions and reactions, I actually look forward to receiving negative feedback to better understand all sides of the story.

  3. Cakehead Loves Evil February 24, 2011 at 11:07 pm #

    Totally understand Scott – I get the same feedback for some of my more questionable projects.

Leave a Reply

