Gingerbread Typewriter

9 Dec

I got sent details of this AMAZING creation by Patti from Baked Ideas. Astonishingly it is 100% EDIBLE… You can read more about my cake projects here, or how to work with my creative consultancy here, but for now let’s gawp as how amazing Patti’s work is :-D

This oversized gingerbread typewriter is part of a gingerbread display to benefit City Harvest, currently on view for a month at the Parker Meridien Hotel in NYC.

There was no theme this year for the gingerbread “houses,” making it kind of difficult to decide what to do! We have made many regular gingerbread houses over the years – so we wanted to try something different.
I’ve been making alphabet letters lately (everyone loves eating them) so I was trying to figure out a way to incorporate them into this gingerbread project.
I also wanted to make something that feels like “holiday” to me … nostalgic, vintage, old fashioned………just like gingerbread itself.

So…. typewriter came to mind… a sort of gingerbread house for the letters that live inside!! Christmas unplugged, a letter to santa, granny’s laptop …… it was fun to think about.
First we made a model of the typewriter in cardboard, and then baked all the parts and crafted the roller, paper and metal keys out of sugar paste. The “glue” is royal icing, and cookies, stacked up, are the inner supports. The keyboard letters are cookies, iced in ivory and trimmed in silver. The iced gingerbread alphabet letters are frolicking in the sugar snow, sometimes spelling out words (fun, skip, eat, joy.)

I am glad we chose to make a typewriter. It is an image that is a reminder of a simpler time … wintery, happy and unexpected. I hope both kids and adults enjoy looking at it.
It’s 100% edible, down to the rice paper ribbon.

12 Responses to “Gingerbread Typewriter”

  1. Kimberly Strawska Hackett December 11, 2011 at 7:21 pm #

    This is one of the most astoundingly, refreshingly original things I have seen in a long time! kudos!

  2. Tricia December 11, 2011 at 11:47 pm #

    Will the cake be auctioned?

  3. cuttercookie December 12, 2011 at 12:32 am #

    Wow. This is amazing. So intricate and I love what it represents: the true spirit of Christmas, happiness, family, old-fashioned goodness. Thanks so much for sharing.

  4. Rob Bowker December 12, 2011 at 1:52 am #

    Edible typewriter? Excellent!

  5. Tracey (My Four Bucks) December 12, 2011 at 6:40 am #

    Astonishingly clever, I can’t even begin to imagine the level of skill involved here. I wouldn’t want anyone to eat any of this though, seems like such a work of art, it should be appreciated by as many ppl as possible.

  6. Linda V @ Bubble and Sweet December 12, 2011 at 9:37 am #

    Wow that is pretty awesome. Nice work.

  7. deana December 12, 2011 at 12:15 pm #

    This is a masterpiece!!! Bravo!!!!!

  8. Liz de Jager (@LizUK) December 12, 2011 at 4:30 pm #

    Oh my gosh! I love it.

    Om nom nom.

  9. Carolyn Jung December 12, 2011 at 4:53 pm #

    I can’t believe this is cake. It’s amazing! I’d have a hard time eating it. I’d just want to admire it for days on end.

  10. Isabel Clowe December 16, 2011 at 10:15 pm #

    Congratulations Patti! Your typewriter cake is brilliant!

  11. rachsmith December 20, 2011 at 1:16 pm #

    I’ve never seen anything quite so epic and simultaneously edible!
    I LOVE it. Inspirational…xx

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Bunny cookie cutters « Cakehead Loves Evil - March 9, 2012

    [...] ideas, gingerbread, patti page, Typewriter Remember Patti from Baked Ideas and her really cool Gingerbread typewriter well I just got another fantastic email from [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 5,237 other followers

